Scholarships & Awards recognize high achievement

Nine national awards
(listed below) were presented May 21, 2014 by the CPSDA at the organization's annual awards banquet, including the third "Tom Osborne Award" presented to Mark Verstegen, (right), founder and President of EXOS (formerly Athletes Performance).  Dr. Osborne (left), the 3-time NCAA championship head football coach at the University of Nebraska who retired as Director of Athletics, is widely recognized by Sports RDs for making "Performance Nutrition" an essential and fully functioning component of the Cornhuskers' athletic department in the 1980s.


CPSDA Trailblazer Award


2014:  Dave Ellis, RD, CSCS, CPSDA Ambassador-at-large    
(Click here to download news release)

2013:  James Harris III, MS, RD, CSCS, Philadelphia Eagles



2012:  Michelle Rockwell, MS, RD, Nutrition Counselor, Raleigh-  
            Durham, NC

2011:  Rob Skinner, MS, RD, CSCS, Naval Special Warfare

CPSDA Service Award

2014:  Caroline Mandel, MS, RD, University of Michigan

(Click here to download news release)

2013:  Jonathan Tanguay, MS, RD, LD, Texas A & M



2012:  Allison Maurer, MS, RD, CSCS, University of Tennessee

2011:  Lindsey Remmers, MS, RD, University of Nebraska

CPSDA Excellence/Perseverance Award

2014:  Victoria Rosenfeld,
RD, LDN, Princeton University

(Click here to download news release)

2013:  Jennifer Ketterly
, MS, RD, LD, University of Georgia


2012:  J
oel Totoro, RD, University of Michigan

2011:  Jana Heitmeyer, M.Ed., MS, RD, LD, CSCS, SCCC, University of

Tom Osborne Award (honoring Coaches & Administrators)

  2014:  Mark Vertegen, Founder/President, EXOS

  2013:  Greg McGarity, Director of Athletics, University of Georgia

  2012:  Mike Alden, Director of Athletics, University of Missouri

EAS Academy Graduate Scholarship Award

2014: Elizabeth Miller, Florida State University
              (Click here to download news release)

2013: Laura Kunces, MS, RD, University of Connecticut

2012:  Lauren Kort, University of Georgia

2014 recipient Elizabeth Miller from Florida State University receives the EAS graduate scholarship
award from CPSDA's Caroline Mandel and EAS Academy's Dr. Steve Hertzler May 21, 2014.

DuPont/Solae Undergraduate Scholarship Award

2014: Robert "Bobby" Leonard, Auburn University
(Click here to download news release)

2013: Sydney Snellman, Auburn University

2014 recipient Robert "Bobby" Leonard, who graduated in May from West Chester
University, receives the DuPont undergraduate scholarship award from
DuPont's Mike Derrington, who also emcees the CPSDA awards program.

Muscle Milk "Athlete of the Year" Awards

2014: Elise Walch, female award recipient, Florida State University
              (Click here to download news release)

2014: Connor Barwin, male award recipient, football
              (Click here to download news release)

2013: Katie Breathitt, female award recipient, Ole Miss

2013: Adam Duvall, male award recipeint, MLB Class AA Richmond Squirrels
2012: Jeff Demps, University of Florida

Accepting the Muscle Milk "Female Athlete of the Year Award" on behalf of Florida
State University's Elise Walch is former FSU Sports RD Kristen Gravani, now the Sports RD at the University of Washington.  Presenting the award are CPSDA Scholarships Chair Caroline Mandel and
Muscle Milk Marketing executive Luke Cherry.  The Muscle Milk "Male Athlete of the Year Award" went to professional football player Connor Barwin.

Abbott Labs and EAS Academy's Keith Wheeler, PhD, became the first recipient of the CPSDA's
Lifetime Member Award May 21, 2014. This first-of-its-kind CPSDA award reads: "In recognition of lifetime contributions to sports nutrition and for unyielding support of the early development of the Collegiate & Professional Sports Dietitians Association."
Dr. Wheeler is joined by CPSDA President Randy Bird (left) and DuPont's Mike Derrington.

Website Builder